The Day After

Standard

I feel good! I can tell that I was moving yesterday, but I am not unreasonably sore. I don’t mind being sore, but I don’t want to over-do things this early in the game and tempt the injury fate gods. (Run stats here.) I can probably go a little harder on Friday, I just needed to figure out where I am at with my fitness level.

For the initial couch to 5k part of things I am going to (mostly) stick with the 3 days a week routine until my body is a little more used to being used. I’ve decided on Friday, Sunday, and Tuesday with Wed/Thurs as my “weekend” to avoid having to do much running while I am traveling for work. Really, I am hoping to get my travel schedule organized so I can do many of the Tuesday work-outs early in the morning before leaving town. We’ll see how that goes. Mostly I need to mentally prepare myself for the fact that I am going to have to figure out how to do this on the road since there will be weeks that require me to leave town on Monday.

In addition to the regular work-outs, I will also be participating in a weekly hike class with Moo at the US National Whitewater Center (Thursday evenings). That will also be a nice walk/light work-out during the week, though I will be glad when the weather decides to cool down a bit more.

I also need to work on my nutrition. I can tell that I hadn’t eaten well or had enough fluids before my work-out yesterday. I am terrible about eating breakfast or lunch. Today is a prime example – I had to get out of here by 6:45am and have had two cups of coffee and two bottles of water. That’s it. It is now after 6pm and of course I am starving (and have a headache). I know better, I just need to do better.

When I do eat, I eat out…a lot. I travel for a living which has me eating on the road and even when I am home, we go out more than we should. Thankfully, last night was Vietnamese: I ordered the curry chicken with vermicelli (essentially street noodles with chicken) and we also given an order of the “house special chicken” (the owner/chef/waiter thought that we should not both order the same thing since Neil also ordered the curry special – the chef is fantastic and his food is phenomenal!) The house chicken is spicy sweet and sour grilled chicken for lack of any better description. So while I am sure that sauce had many sugar calories and the curry had lots of salt, neither dish was awful for me. The fresh rolls with shrimp had veggies, herbs, and shrimp and I drank water with my meal.

At least when I do cook, I eat a bunch of fish. Mostly salmon or tuna with the occasional cod or tilapia thrown in. I just need to figure out how to make the cooking happen more often.

Still not sure what to do about eating on the road. I may try to stay at more residence type hotels that have a stove and/or microwave and fridge and then find a local grocery store for food. We’ll see how that goes.

Sorry for the rambling on there. Now I need to go find some dinner…

Leave a Reply

