C25K – Week 4: Almost

Standard

Holy cows and pigs and horses…my legs hurt today. Not in any way that worries me, just in a used, tired way. I didn’t make it all the way through the last five-minute run due to tripping over my own two feet because my muscles didn’t want to work any more. Thankfully, when planning this out on a calendar when I was first starting out, and knowing how utterly out of shape I was when I started, I had pre-planned a repeat of week four. I knew the longer runs would be tough. I need to make sure I can complete a full week of this before moving on.

I’ve also pre-scheduled to repeat week seven. For the record this is a nine week program – week eight is only 28 minutes of running. Week nine is the full 30 minutes (which should amount to around three miles, though the speed will need working on at a later date).

4 responses »

  1. You are doing really well, and good on you for sticking with it. repeating weeks is something I have done in several training programs, on my current training plan I left no room for repeats, so I hope everythign works like it should!

    Oh and also for the record, I still can not run 3 miles in 30 minutes. today I did it in 38 which was extra slow, but the expectation that everyone can run 10 min miles is a little over the top, I think you have seen that on daily mile…

    • Thanks! Things are going to get a bit tight with scheduling as I move into a 10k program and on through the 1/2 program in order to finish them by March…we’ll see, but at least by then I will be fit enough to finish the 1/2 even if it ends up being a lot of walking. I have to admit that even though I didn’t finish the running portion today and my legs are tired and sore, I still feel really good!

      And yeah, I had noticed that which definitely makes me feel better! Really, my only goal for now is to finish that 1/2 in under 3 hours (I think I read that that was the course time limit?)

Leave a Reply

