New Year’s Resolutions

Standard

2010 was an alright year…in retrospect, it was pretty uneventful. In fact the most remarkable thing was that I agreed to run in a half marathon. Unfortunately, the recent discovery of a severe stress-fracture in my left leg has put those plans on hold. However, I’ve made a good start (especially mentally) into getting fit. Still working on eating better, she types as she chomps on a slice of pizza and slurps down a Coke…

Now that 2011 is upon us, I suppose I ought to evaluate my goals for the coming months. Being as this is my running blog, these are obviously my health and fitness resolutions for the coming year…

  • Heal. (and prevent future injuries) – first and foremost, I need to get my body healed. Hopefully next week I will get the all-clear from the doctor and can get back to doing something active. Prevention is paramount…which will probably make me overly cautious this year, but I believe will give me a better foundation for the long run and will overall make me stronger.
  • Exercise. This injury isn’t stopping me. No way. No how. The grand debate now is whether to fork over for a gym membership, or to purchase a stationary bike for my “home gym”. I will also finally get to use the Kinect with the Your Shape ‘game’ we purchased. I suppose I would be much more inclined to go with a gym membership if I weren’t traveling so much. But knowing myself, when I am at home, I very much dislike leaving. Heck. I don’t even like going to the grocery store. Heh.
  • Eat well. Or maybe this should just be, eat better. My goal is to keep the pizzas and other junk foods to a bare minimum. Seeing as how today is technically a holiday, my hope is to keep the junk food confined to those days. I enjoy good food…by which I mean, I do enjoy food that is good for me. More cooking at home.
  • Half marathon. I’m not giving up on this. And I am sincerely hoping that my original running mates will be able to join me in this endeavor when the time finally comes that I can do it. Unfortunately, my time-line is a bit longer this time in order to avoid any repeats of the stress-fractures. In fact, though technically it wouldn’t be in 2011, I may aim for the same half marathon in Seaside next March. That will give me plenty of time to slowly work up to that much running and allow for lots of 5 and 10k’s between now and then. We’ll see.

Of course as a part of all of this, the sub-goal is to lose weight. Based on reading and suggestions from others, I will resume my weekly weigh-ins (beginning next Saturday). However, this time I am going to record my weight as an average of my weight each day of the week. It can fluctuate so much from one day to the next, I think this will give me a better overall picture of where I am at. And it give the OCD part of me an excuse to get on the scale each day.

I hope that 2011 brings you readers contentment and health and that we are all able to achieve what we’ve set out to accomplish in the coming year!

3 responses »

  1. Yay! I’m crossing all of my fingers for you that you get the all-clear from the doctor next week!

    I’m totally with you on the “trying to eat better” wagon. It should be much easier with the holidays over, right? We can hope! Pizza is my downfall so I need to stay away from that too. Boo.

    Good luck with your goals in 2011!

    • Thanks! Argh. If pizza weren’t just so darn convenient sometimes…delivered nice and hot right to the door. *sigh* It will be a challenge, that’s for sure. LOL

  2. Pizza is really not that bad for a person in moderation! It contains all the food groups and such. I really would not consider it a junk food in the same terms as McDonalds. That said, I have a cholesterol test tomorrow and all I want is Pizza. btu given my last test which was I think influenced by Pizza…I’ll have it afterwards….

Leave a Reply

