On your marks! Get set….

Standard

Go!

OK, ok…it has already been pointed out to me that I missed my Oct 1 post and that it is October 2nd. Yesterday ended up being a bit of a wasted day after getting home from the Moonshiner’s Reunion & Mountain Music Festival. That was a seriously good time, but there was very little sleep on Friday, so most of that happened yesterday. A side-note for folks interested there is a documentary on the History Channel featuring Barney Barnwell (the founder/creator of the Plum Hollow festivals that are held on his farm):  History Channel’s “You Don’t Know Dixie”. This year’s Moonshiner’s was in tribute to Barney who passed away in March. Anyway – it was a great time and we will be doing it again next year.

Now back to the real purpose of this post…it’s time to get back on the fitness bandwagon!

~~~ ~~~ ~~~

WEIGHT: 219

~~~ ~~~ ~~~
Gah. I didn’t even bother with measurements this month Measurements are on that page if you are reaaallllly interested – they aren’t pretty. I’ve eaten garbage, sat on my rear end more than doing anything else, and generally wasted away back to where I started more than a year ago. But as the quote in my side-bar says: Courage doesn’t always roar. Sometimes courage is the quiet voice at the end of the day saying, ‘I will try again tomorrow.’ And that is where I am at…time to try again.

Gym – Thanks to Neil, we’ve both joined the local Y. Annoyingly, the Y by his house is in the Charlotte/Meck area and mine is in the Gaston area so we can’t actually go together very often (unless we want to fork over even more money each month), but I think that’s OK. I’d rather just go and do my own thing anyway. I am doing the orientation thing they offer – last Monday was cake because it was cardio equipment, which I know how to use. This coming Monday is the weight equipment which I need orientation on because I haven’t used weight machines since I was in high school. I am also going to look into getting a personal trainer while I am there Monday. I need some help getting started on a good plan.

C25K – I am also going to start over with this. However, this time, I plan to do it all outside. Horrible hills and everything. I think I am going to take Moo with me and see how that goes, too. It will be good for her to get out and get more exercise and I think if we are both starting from square one then I don’t have to worry too much about over-doing it with her. She has a vet appointment soon so I am going to ask his advice just to make sure.

Eating – I have also decided to try to journal my food for a while. I’ve fallen back into bad habits of not eating anything pretty much all day and then eating garbage for dinner. Last night I cleaned out the fridge and the freezer. Later today I am going grocery shopping to fill in gaps of things I need. Mainly, breakfast and lunch foods.  Oh, speaking of food, LaCroix has new flavors (at least new to me) that we discovered at the grocery store the other day…Coconut (which I think is disgusting, but Neil loves) and Pear/Peach which is very, very tasty…refreshing like a cold, bubbly pear. We found these in plastic bottles in the water aisle, while the regular cases of canned LaCroix is still in the soda aisle. Not sure why, based on the ingredients it all seems like the same stuff.

Travel – last but not least…this past week, for the first time ever, I took gym clothes and shoes with me and used the fitness center at the hotel. No matter what, Sundays will be my rest day. I am not sure yet what the rest of the week will look like. Probably mostly cardio stuff while I am traveling and then running and weights when I can get to the gym and am at home. I suppose mostly that all depends on what kind of facilities are available at the various hotels.

So there you have it…tomorrow I am back at the gym for weights orientation and to look into a trainer. And away we go!

P.S. Did I mention Neil was also going to the gym? He’s been at it for nearly a month now…consistently. I am SO freakin’ proud of him! (He’s making me look bad, but I’ll let that slide for now.)

7 responses »

  1. Yaaay! I was really glad to see the biking post! You are on your way. I hear you on the food thing. I mean, I have become so addicted to steak and shake drive through….perhaps I can have none in October.

    • Thanks Holly! And good luck with the Steak N Shake…I love that place. Thankfully there isn’t one near me. My downfall has been anything smothered in butter and/or cheese…and fried….with ranch. LOL

Leave a Reply

